Bangladesh ODI squad for Ireland announced without Mahmudullah

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the 16-member squad for the first two of the upcoming three-match ODI series against Ireland, excluding Mahmudullah Riyad.

Mahmudullah lost his place in the team due to bad form. Mahmudullah scored only 71 runs in the recently concluded three-match ODI series against England. Besides, his strike rate and bad fielding were also noticeable.
36-year-old Mahmudullah has already retired from Test cricket. He also lost his place in the T20 team.

Mahmudullah’s future is under threat due to his exclusion from the ODI team. Yasir Ali has been taken into the team instead of Mahmudullah. Taijul has been ruled out of the series against England. Nasum Ahmed has been called in his place.

Zakir Hasan has been called up to the ODI team for the first time. Shoriful Islam has also been taken into the team. Although he was called up to the ODI series against England but did not play any matches, he retained his place in the Ireland series team.

The visiting Ireland team flew to Sylhet after landing in Dhaka.

The three-match ODI series between Bangladesh and Ireland will be held at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on March 18, 20, and 23 respectively.

Bangladesh squad for first two ODIs: Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Litton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali, Towhid Hridoy, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Zakir Hasan.

Also read: Bangladesh clinch T20 series against England


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button