Bangladesh declares ‘Independence Award-2023’

Bangladesh conferred the ‘Independence Award 2023’ to nine eminent individuals and one institution in recognition of their distinguished and remarkable contributions to the national level.

According to a handout of the cabinet division, the recipients of the ‘Independence Award 2023’ are Valiant freedom fighters Colonel (retd) Shamsul Alam, Late Lieutenant AG Mohamnmad Khurshid (posthumous), Martyr Khwaza Nizamuddin Bhuiyan, Mofazzal Hossain Chowdhury (Maya) Bir Bikram, Late Dr Mohammad Mainuddin Ahmed (Selim Al Deen) (posthumous), Pabitra Mohan Dey, ASM Rakibul Hasan, Begum Nadira Jahan (Surma Jahid), Dr Ferdousi Kadri, and the Department of Fire Service and Civil Defence.

Independence Award is Bangladesh’s highest civil state award. Bangladesh has been giving this award every year since 1977 on the occasion of Independence Day on 26 March.

Also read: Gulistan explosion: Death toll rises to 19

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button