South Africa’s new T20 captain Aiden Markram

Aiden Markram has become the captain of the South Africa (SA) T20 cricket team.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has named Markram as the captain for the upcoming three-match Twenty20 series against the West Indies at home.

Markram replaced Temba Bavuma. Bavuma left the T20 captaincy last month after becoming the Test captain. After stepping down from the T20 captaincy, Bavuma was dropped from the short-version team.

South Africa won the Under-19 ODI World Cup in 2014 under Markram’s leadership. Markram led Sunrisers Eastern Cape to the title in South Africa’s new domestic tournament, the SA T20 League.

That is why the selectors have given the responsibility of the T20 team by trusting Markram. Markram will lead Sunrisers Hyderabad in the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL).

The CSA also announced the squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against the West Indies. Two pacers Enrich Nortey and Kagiso Rabada have been rested in the ODI series. They are in the T20 series team.

Pacer Gerald Coetzee, two batsmen Tony Di Georgi and Tristan Stubbs have been called up to the ODI team for the first time. Spinner Keshav Maharaj is in the ODI squad even though he is not in the T20 team.

Markram, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Marco Janssen and Wayne Parnell will not play in the first match of the series. They will play in the third and last ODI.

Meanwhile, JP Duminy has become South Africa’s batting coach permanently and Rory Kleinveldt has been given the role of bowling coach on a temporary basis.

South Africa and West Indies will face each other in ODI series from March 16 and T20 series from March 25.

Squad for three T20Is: Aiden Markram (captain), Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Sisanda Magala, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

South Africa ODI squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Tony de Zorzi, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Ryan Rickelton, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tristan Stubbs, Lizaad Williams, Rassie van der Dussen.

For the third ODI only – Aiden Markram, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Marco Jansen and Wayne Parnell.

Also read: Ivory Coast footballer Moustapha Sylla dies on the field


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button