Shahabuddin Chuppu becomes Bangladesh’s 22nd President

The Election Commission (EC) of Bangladesh has published the gazette declaring Md Shahabuddin Chuppu as the 22nd President of the country.

EC Secretariat published this gazette on Monday (February 13) afternoon.

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Kazi Habibul Awal announced the name of Sahabuddin as the 22nd President of the country in a press conference at noon.

Earlier, the CEC said only one person had filed nomination papers for the post of President. No candidate filed nomination papers and since Md. Sahabuddin’s nomination paper was valid, he had been declared elected as per Section 7 of the Presidential Election Act.

Md. Sahabuddin was born in the Pabna district in 1949. During his student life, he served as an active activist and president of the Pabna District Chhatra League. Actively participating in the Liberation War, Sahabuddin joined the Bangladesh Civil Service (BCS) Judicial cadre in 1982. He retired as a District and Sessions Judge in 2006 after 25 years of service as a Judge.

Soon after the BNP-Jamaat alliance came to power in 2001, Awami League and its affiliates attacked activists and minority communities. So murder, rape, and looting happened. Later, when the Awami League government came to power, it formed a commission to investigate those incidents, headed by Sahabuddin. From 2011 to 2016, he served as Commissioner of the Anti-Corruption Commission.

Md. Sahabuddin Ahmed is one of the members of the Central Advisory Council of Awami League.

Also read: Young Bangladeshi carpenter makes wooden bicycle

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button