Suryakumar gets ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year award

Indian batsman Suryakumar Yadav got the International Cricket Council (ICC) T20I Men’s Cricketer of the Year 2022 award.

Suryakumar set this precedent as the first Indian cricketer, according to ICC.

While Australian all-rounder Tahlia McGrath was named the ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year 2022.

Four men were nominated as the T20I Cricketer of the Year in the men’s category.

Suryakumar was battling with Pakistan wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Rizwan, England all-rounder Sam Curran and Zimbabwe batting all-rounder Sikandar Raja.

After making his T20I debut in 2021, Suryakumar had a great year. This right-handed batsman scored 1164 runs in 31 matches in 2022.

Suryakumar has scored 1000 runs in one calendar year as the second cricketer in T20I history. He scored 9 half-centuries and 2 centuries. He played two beautiful innings of 55-ball 117 against England at Nottingham and 51-ball unbeaten 111 against New Zealand at Mt Manganui.

Suryakumar hit 68 sixes in T20I last year. Which is the highest in the short version in one year calendar. His batting average was around 46 and his strike rate was 187.

Suryakumar was at his best with the bat in the T20I World Cup held in Australia last year. He scored 239 runs with 3 half-centuries in 6 innings. The average was around 60 and the strike rate was around 190.

Also read: Ukrainian Ulitina has ‘really hard’ life

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button